serious question about EQ and playtimes (long)

Anything EQ related that doesn't fall into another category goes here.
Goranothos
Arch Mage

serious question about EQ and playtimes (long)

Post by Goranothos »

First, a brief bit of background: I've been playing EQ, off and on, (same character) since 2001. Raided old world, kunark, velious, some luclin, and PoP. I've been what you would call a "casual player" since the expansion that followed PoP (GoD?). In the last year, I've taken to boxing a shammy. When I play, I mostly box, and occasionally group. During my years of playing EQ, I've taken several long breaks, some as long as a year.

Yesterday I was attempting nameds in MC, and having bad luck, died four times in a row trying to kill puppetmaster and aether. Zone was empty except me. Then a group comes along and kills the named (with no problem whatsoever). They gave me the loot, but it was kinda humilating and pretty much killed my fun. Then, a bard from a high end raiding guild offers to group with me, which I agree to. He/she was very nice and helpful, but it soon became apparant to me that he/she was so far ahead of me in play skills, gear, and aa that he/she didn't really need me at all, and was just "slumming", for lack of a better term.

All this kinda made me ask myself why I even bother. On a typical week, I'm lucky to be able to play two hours in a row Mon-Fri, and I can usually get three uninterrupted hours of playtime on Saturday and Sunday afternoons, for a grand total of eight hours of playtime a week. This pretty much seals my doom as far as raiding goes. Unless I join the ranks of the unemployed and/or give up bodybuilding or my wife leaves me, I am never going to raid again. So the best I can hope for is boxing, or occasionally grouping my way through group content. With my limited playtime, I do not wish to spend any time LFG, so I basically start boxing and if someone wants to join me I let them.