Pets and RS

Anything relating to the magical arts (pets, spells, AAs).
Kraymerica
Magician

Pets and RS

Post by Kraymerica »

Sorry if this has been touched on before, but just wondering when the whole RS line came about?
Did we fight to get this or was it a Dev's idea? I think it would be nice if we could get our pet to be more dps, and not have to worry about this huge mana RS line all the time. Wouldn't that give us more dps and relieve some mana issues?
I am just a rusty vet-returnee, so feel free to tell me I'm wrong. I just miss the days of sending in a big bad jabober and just launching fireballs from afar.
Voragath
Grand Summoner

Re: Pets and RS

Post by Voragath »

It was introduced in DoDH and I wasn't a real active player during that time as I'd only been playing EQ a very short while so I don't know why.

We will never have Goner do huge damage like some people seem to think he always did. The game has changed, the developers have changed, and how the players tackle events has changed.

For Goner to do huge damage like people think means we would flip roles. Goner would be our sole point of damage and we'd be forced to maintain him non-stop. It really is a terrible idea to get all of or most of our damage from the pet as he can take such abuse. That makes him free damage.

RS pet has turned into the compromise for that as the devs can control it more without messing up Goner. Also, part of our problem isn't just mana but dps. Because of how pets work through their mechanics, they just can't be burst dps no matter how hard anyone tries.

Here's the breakdown: majority sustained dps source is Goner. Majority burst DPS source is the mage.

I'm not saying making Goner awesomesauce is a bad idea. I'm just saying the way EQ was designed from day one prevents this.

A good analogy is this:
Pet = /autoattack
Spells = disc
Kraymerica
Magician

Post by Kraymerica »