Which pet is best for DPS

Anything relating to the magical arts (pets, spells, AAs).
eyegot
Trial Member

Which pet is best for DPS

Post by eyegot »

Hey guys, I am new to the magician class and am curious about the differences in dps between pets. I am boxing a cleric with tank merc and mage with dps merc. I always have used the air pet due to the stuns but I am now learning that the fire and water pets are almost double the dps of the air pet ? my mage is 86 and equipped with em7. What would be my best route to maximize dps without pet tanking ?
Potawatomi
Volunteer

Re: Which pet is best for DPS

Post by Potawatomi »

Water for that setup.
Fleiss
Conjurer

Post by Fleiss »

Water overall unless you want to try and move the fire pet around to be in melee range.
Cielli
Conjurer

Post by Cielli »

Water pet is about 20% more dps than Air. Fire pet is about 15% more than water pet if he's in melee range, otherwise he's about 10% less ( spell damage only )

Get rid of both mercs & your experience will be much better. Mage/cleric is a good team, you're just throwing away experience using those mercs, if you realy want a merc for faster killing, use 1 wizard merc.
eyegot
Trial Member

Post by eyegot »

Did they ever come out with an AA to position the pet behind the mob ?
dorfillya
Conjurer

Post by dorfillya »

eyegot wrote:..................What would be my best route to maximize dps without pet tanking ?
Not sure why you are against pet tanking, I generally found my pet to be superior to any merc tank. And, your cleric box should be able to heal him just fine. I agree with Cielli, ditch merc tank, and probably the merc cleric. Not really very many places a mage/cleric can't single pull. And, very few group mobs a pet (earth or air) can't tank.

Yes, water and fire pet are more dps, but, those pets total dps should only be maybe 20-25% of your total dps. Therefore, the dps pets doing maybe 15% more than an air pet, amounts to only 3-4% of your total dps.